fbpx Gala 2018 | The Studio Museum in Harlem

Gala 2018

Studio Museum

Nancy L. Lane. Photo: Liz Ligon

The 50th Anniversary Gala raised a record $3.9 million, thanks to the generosity and support of the Museum’s incredible patrons, artists and friends. Over 800 artists, cultural leaders, civic leaders, business leaders, and philanthropists were in attendance at the Park Avenue Armory. First Lady of New York City Chirlane McCray presented the Studio Museum with a Mayoral Proclamation to commemorate the Museum’s historic fifty year legacy.

Thanks to the continued support of philanthropist George Wein, the Joyce Alexander Wein Artist Prize was awarded to Diedrick Brackens, a Los Angeles–based multidisciplinary artist recognized for his innovative use of weaving and textile making. Brackens is the thirteenth artist to receive this prestigious $50,000 cash award.

1 / 12

Dr. Amelia Ogunlesi, Carol Sutton Lewis, First Lady Chirlane McCray, Jacqueline L. Bradley, and Kathryn C. Chenault. Photo: Regina Fleming

2 / 12

Alexander Smalls and Cicely Tyson. Photo: Regina Fleming

3 / 12

Christine Y. Kim and Sanford Biggers. Photo: Julie Skarratt

4 / 12

Sarah Lewis, Kimberly Drew, and Tyler Mitchell. Photo: Regina Fleming

5 / 12

George Wein and Diedrick Brackens. Photo: Julie Skarratt

6 / 12

Kinshasha Holman Conwill, Thelma Golden, and Edward S. Spriggs. Photo: Julie Skarratt

7 / 12

Agnes Gund, Merele Williams-Adkins, Jack Shear. Photo: Liz Ligon

8 / 12

Duhirwe Rushemeza, Joeonna Bellorado-Samuels, Toyin Ojih Odutola, and Deborah Willis. Photo: Liz Ligon

9 / 12

Julie Mehretu and Catherine Gund. Photo: Liz Ligon

10 / 12

First Lady Chirlane McCray and Thelma Golden. Photo: Regina Fleming

11 / 12

Kara Walker and Ari Marcopoulos. Photo: Ben Gabbe

12 / 12

Photo: Julie Skarratt

previous slide
next slide